Travel + Music + Writing = The Best Threesome Ever

As stated in my first post my love of travel was born partially through a love of music. When I began writing for an online media outlet as a sophomore my career goal was journalism. My dream goal was to be a famous singer. I figured I was Hannah Montanaing the crap out of the best of both worlds here. I got to have my cake and eat it too. Sophomore year was also the year I was gifted recording studio time from a family friend and realized singing was probably not going to work out. So I worked my butt off at every album review, every concert review, every interview. My love for English and writing flourished here and I learned so much. I spent the next few years determined to make music journalism my job. I discovered new venues all over my hometown, was opened up to new genres of music.

While I ultimately ended up leaving the website and changing majors from Journalism to Law to Communications, moving to LA for the shortest period possible, taking time off school, going back to school for Business and FINALLY deciding on Sports & Recreation Management (I know) I don’t regret a second of my time spent on the site. I met two incredible people who were there for me when it felt like no one else was. Our love of music brought us together and if not for that website we would never have met.

My first trip that was without parental or teacher supervision was to Chicago. We’d scored press passes for Warped Tour in Chicago and an interview with Simple Plan. Stephanie flew from Los Angeles to Cleveland and we drove from Cleveland to Chicago to meet up with Cristina and the editor of the website we were all writing for at the time. It was the most fun I’ve ever had on a trip in my life. It was great people in a great city and great music.

Most importantly it gave me a taste of freedom that can only be served by traveling with your best friends. I truly recommend getting your friends, packing up one of your cars and driving somewhere new. Whether it’s for a day or a weekend, for a concert or just to get away and experience somewhere new.

Leave a Reply

